WDKN 1260 AM Country Gospel Talk Radio WDKN 1260 AM Country Gospel Talk Radio commented on their own photo.21.11.2014 at 07:51 pmLike
WDKN 1260 AM Country Gospel Talk Radio The funeral service for former Dickson City Councilman Robert I. Blue will be 2 pm Tuesday at the First United Methodist Church on Main Street in downtown Dickson. Visitation will be noon until the time of service Tuesday at the church. Burial will be in the East Dickson Cemetery with arrangements under the direction of Taylor Funeral Home. Mr. Blue died Wednesday at the age of 84. He was the first African American elected to an office in Dickson County history and served a total of 36 years representing the 4th Ward under five different mayors. Mr. Blue was honored by the Clement Railroad Hotel Museum as a Civil Rights Trailblazer and served as one of three grand marshals for the 2014 Old Timers Day Parade, along with Richard Arnold and Ralph Sullivan as three people who served on the city council for at least 30 years. Mr. Blue retired after 39 years with the former Ford Glass Plant in Nashville, working as a shop steward for United Auto Workers Local 737.21.11.2014 at 07:50 pmLike
WDKN 1260 AM Country Gospel Talk Radio Dickson County Sheriff Jeff Bledsoe confirmed Friday that the administrator of the Dickson County Jail is on leave pending a criminal investigation. In a brief statement released today, Bledsoe said Capt. Donnie Young was placed on administrative leave on Oct. 8. The statement says the employment action was prompted by an allegation of a criminal act. The sheriff's statement says the investigation is being conducted by the office of the District Attorney for the 23rd Judicial District. DA Ray Crouch will decide whether any evidence or testimony will be presented to a grand jury. Bledsoe declined to comment any further on the ongoing investigation.21.11.2014 at 06:47 pmLike
WDKN 1260 AM Country Gospel Talk Radio WDKN 1260 AM Country Gospel Talk Radio likes a photo.21.11.2014 at 05:43 pmLike
WDKN 1260 AM Country Gospel Talk Radio With $6 million in funding approved by the county commission, the Dickson County School Board has begun mapping out the stages for phases I and II of its facilities improvement plan. The Dickson County Commission gave final approval Monday night to a plan to borrow $6 million for the school system. Mayor Bob Rial said with a $1.6 million contribution from the school board, the county likely will be able to pay off the 20-year bond in as little as 10 years without needing any additional revenue from property taxes. Following that approval, school officials met with C&I Design Wednesday to begin planning the work to be done with the funds. Director of Schools Dr. Danny Weeks presented a tentative schedule for phases I and II to the school board Thursday night showing bids to be opened for the first phase on Jan. 6. The schedule presented to the board shows the first stage of safety and security upgrades to undergo a final drawing review around Dec. 15 with bids opened Jan. 6 and a contract presented at the board's Jan. 22 meeting. With a projected cost of $735,000, the proposal will include constructing secure entrances at several campuses, installing video security systems and other steps that were recommended by a special committee that began reviewing school safety following the Dec. 14, 2012, school shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary in Connecticut. The second phase begins with a Jan. 15 drawing review for renovations to more than 35 bathrooms across the system, with a bid opening Feb. 3 and a contract presented to the board Feb. 26. That project is estimated to cost $607,000. That is followed by a drawing review for mechanical upgrades at various schools on Feb. 1, with a bid opening set for Feb. 17 and a contract also presented at the February board meeting. The plan allocates $2 million for the HVAC projects, but Weeks said he is concerned that a major system upgrade at Dickson County High School might turn out to be extensive and have to be delayed as a separate project. On March 1 will be a final drawing review for the replacement of doors and windows to improve energy efficiency at several buildings, with a bid opening on March 19 and a contract presented at the board's March 27 meeting. That stage is estimated at $1,344,000. Two phases of roofing work at Dickson County High School and miscellaneous other projects remain to be scheduled. Weeks said the system is working with Jeff Corlew of C&I Design to plan the start of the various stages to hold down the impact on school operations. “We will be working with principals very carefully, and one thing we've stressed with Mr. Corlew is we know there will be some interruption of school and school days and things like that. But we've very clearly identified times that during testing times, during instructional time we don't need interruptions, so trying to minimize those as much as we possibly can, while teachers continue to teach, while we go through the testing season of late April, early May. And so he has told us we should not have trouble working around those,” Weeks said. The director said he anticipates being able to complete the projects in phases I and II by fall break 2015, with the exception of the mechanical upgrade at DCHS, which could take longer depending on how extensive it turns out to be.21.11.2014 at 03:39 pmLike

  • 22 November 2014, 11:36 pm
    CMT All-Time Top 40: Elvis Presley

    Elvis Presley has been revealed at No. 3 on CMT All-Time Top 40: Artists Choice. A list of the most influential artists in history chosen by country stars themselves, another honoree is named each week on CMT Hot 20 Countdown. Known as the King of Rock ‘n’ Roll, Presley began his career as a 19-year-old... Read more »

  • 22 November 2014, 6:00 pm
    Keith Urban: “I Was Going to Do It Forever”

    For Keith Urban, life has always been about the music. He admits it’s all he’s ever known. His dedication is obvious to anyone who has explored the sheer volume of his musical catalog and accolades throughout the past 15 years. On Dec. 2, he’ll add to those accolades during the CMT Artists of the Year... Read more »

  • 22 November 2014, 12:00 pm
    Garth Brooks Back on Top With Man Against Machine

    Garth Brooks’ Man Against Machine wears Billboard’s country albums’ crown this week, debuting at the top on initial sales of 129,837 copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan. That impressive total was not enough, however, to earn Brooks similar eminence on Billboard’s all-genres rankings, where Taylor Swift’s pop collection, 1989, continues to reign for its second week.... Read more »

  • 21 November 2014, 10:00 pm
    Jake Owen’s My Chauffeur

    I had plans tonight, but I’m 100 percent willing to ditch them for a joy ride with Jake Owen. Post by Jake Owen. Here’s the deal. Uber and Spotify have joined forces to put a few artists behind the wheel of an Uber car, and it just so happens that Nashville’s celebrity driver is Mr.... Read more »

  • 21 November 2014, 9:25 pm
    Don’t Do Dibs Down South

    On Thursday night’s (Nov. 20) premiere of Party Down South 2, which follows eight Southerners ready to shotgun the summer, we meet Bradley, Hunter, Duke, Tommy, Ashton, Karynda, Magan and Raven in their hometowns before hitting the road to the party pad in Biloxi, Mississippi. First to arrive at the house is Bradley. Then, we... Read more »

  • 21 November 2014, 8:40 pm
    Will Luke Bryan Win Artist of the Year Honors at American Music Awards

    Luke Bryan isn’t just one of the hottest artists in country music. He’s one of the hottest acts in all of music, and he’s got an artist of the year nomination at the American Music Awards to prove it. Bryan is in some stellar company in the night’s biggest category with competition from rapper Iggy... Read more »

Next Page




Advertise Here
RFC Broadband
Bank of Dickson