Early Voting Begins for 2024 Primaries with

Key Local and Presidential Races on the Ballot

DICKSON, Tenn. (February 8, 2024)The 2024 election season is underway, with the Republican and Democratic primaries scheduled for March 5, 2024.

The Republican primary ballot, includes the repblican presidential primary race and the selection of district delegates aligned with voters’ preferred presidential candidates. Local Dickson County general election races include the position of Assessor of Property, with Jenny Heath Martin uncontested in the primary. Also appearing on the ballot are Dickson County School Board Races: District 1 sees Robyn Lampley, Tonya Albright, and Paul M. Jones vying for Kirk Vandivort’s vacated seat; Steve Haley is up for re-election in District 3 against challenger Cullen J. Homolka; and Joe Underwood stands unopposed in District 5 but will face challenger Sherri Thiel on the August 1 ballot. Additionally, Tim Cunningham is the sole candidate for the constable race in District 6. Districts one through five do not have a candidate listed in this primary.

The winners of the March 5, 2024 republican primary will appear on the August 1, 2024 State and County General election ballot.

Democratic voters will find a simpler ballot, as the only race featured is the presidential primary, with President Joe Biden seeking re-election.

When asked for clarification regarding the primary and the difference between the ballots, Dickson County Adminstrator of Elections, Roxanne Hagewood simply responded, “The Chairman of the Dickson County Republican party called for a primary of all county offices for the County General Election, the Chairman of the Democratic party chose not to.”

Early voting will commence on February 14 and continue through February 27, 2024. Voters in our county will have the opportunity to cast their ballots ahead of the March 5 primaries, with the exception of President’s Day, when both early voting locations will be closed. Designated early voting sites, the election commission in Charlotte and the County Government Building in Dickson, are open to all voters, regardless of their residence.

Operating hours for early voting are as follows: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday from 8:30 AM to 3:30 PM; extended hours on Thursday from 10:00 AM to 6:30 PM; and a shorter window on Saturday from 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM.

The deadline for requesting an absentee ballot is set for February 27, 2024. The window for candidates wishing to run as independents in the August 1 county general election has closed, solidifying the slate of contenders for this election cycle.

In the state of Tennessee voters are required to have a government issued photo ID.┬áThe acceptable ID’s are:

Tennessee Drivers Licenses, Department of Safety Photo ID, United States Passport or Passport Card, United States Military Photo ID, Veteran Identification Card, Federal Employee/Contractor ID.